Reasons to get out of bed…

Baby’s First Race!

Ok, technically, her first race was this 5k. But, I’ve signed her up for her very first solo race! It’s a “diaper derby” at a (not so local) mall.

What’s a diaper derby? you ask.

It’s a crawling race. For this one, there will be 6 babies placed onto the track at a time and they have to crawl their way to a finish line. I have no idea what the distance will be though. I doubt very long. My mom relates it to a frog or turtle race. Who knows who will win, it’s a total crap-shoot; but hilarity will definitely ensue! Also, I heard a rumor (from the race registration woman) that this one is sponsored by Keurig so there will be free cupcakes and coffee for the spectators. 🙂

For this Diaper Derby, only 72 babies can register. Winners of each heat go on to compete in a semi-final round, etc. And the top 3 finishers win a trophy. How cute is that?

There are rules though, all registrants must be under 12 months old and if they stand up on the track, they are disqualified! No walking allowed!

Really, I see there being 3 scenarios that could play out for my kid:

  1. She’s awesome, has her eye on the prize, and crawls like the wind (would it be inappropriate for me to play “Eye of the Tiger” during the race? Hmm… probably. I guess I’ll just hum it to myself.)
  2. She cries as soon as she’s put on the track and refuses to move
  3. She wants to touch all of the other babies… in the face (for some reason she loves touching other babies’ faces – it’s so not appreciated by other moms…)

Can you think of any other scenarios?

I’m pretty sure if I could put one of the cats at the finish line, baby girl would be certain to win! Her top motivation for crawling is to chase the cats!

Prissy Pants hiding in a bag within a box... her dream come true!

Prissy Pants hiding in a bag within a box… pretty sure this is her dream come true!

Really, I signed her up because it sounds like something funny to do. (Also, both a friend and my mom egged me on…) She’s a fast little crawler when she wants to be though, so who knows? Maybe in March I’ll have pictures of our new trophy!

Or maybe I’ll just have pictures of the free cupcakes. That’s ok by me.

I just hope I don’t have pictures of a miserable, crying baby. Well, pictures of MY miserable, crying baby. I’m sure it will happen to someone, I just hope that someone isn’t me.

Crawling towards Prissy Pants. Sorry this is so blurry, it's a screen shot from a silly little (anti-climactic) video.

Crawling towards Prissy Pants. Sorry this is so blurry, it’s a screen shot from a silly little (anti-climactic) video. Also, how cute is that hat!?

Comments on: "Baby’s First Race!" (3)

  1. ADORABLE hat!!
    Good luck, Little One, with your training for the big race.

  2. […] Right now, the baby and I are at the Diaper Derby! Let’s hope she’s crawling like the wind, not howling like the […]

  3. […] you read my original post leading up to the Diaper Derby, let me just say the cupcakes were […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

