Reasons to get out of bed…

Baby Weight

Yesterday, I talked about my thoughts when it came to my own weight. Today, I’m going to talk about the baby’s weight.

I knew that when babies were born, they immediately lost a little bit of weight. I didn’t know however that the hospital would only let the baby lose 10% of her body weight and still be discharged. For my little girl, born 7 lbs 14 oz, we were told that equalled 10 ounces. We were also told that she would probably have about 1 BM diaper per day and she actually had 5 BM diapers per day! If there was anything that I could say with certainty about my newborn, it was that her waste removal system seemed to work well.

On the day we were to be discharged, they weighed the baby (honestly, they weighed her every day) – she had lost 11 ounces! Too much!!!! The hospital pediatrician thought that Baby Girl looked fine though, not dehydrated or sick. So on their suggestion, I fed her and they weighed her immediately after – success! She was only down the allowed 10 ounces! The doctor could release her with a clear conscience. To be on the safe side though, she had to see her pediatrician 2 days later – and every 2 days after that for 2 weeks (seriously, we went on a Sunday!) It felt like we were living at the doctor’s office.

6 days old, but she has too few fat rolls!

6 days old, but she has too few fat rolls!

If I remember correctly, babies are supposed to be back to their birth weight within 3 weeks of birth. It took Baby Girl 4 weeks. She always seemed healthy, but was always underweight. Those first few weeks felt like such a struggle to avoid the label “failure to thrive.” And out of complete stubbornness, we were determined that she would be exclusively breastfed. I have no idea why I was so freaking stubborn about it… it was almost like I was determined to get it right! (And I may have had a weird fear of her developing allergies to formula ingredients) Luckily, the doctor was 100% fine with my stubbornness and supported my choice, which was probably why we were there so often. If she could prove that Baby Girl was staying healthy – “breast was best.”

And then one day the doctor said something that I really loved her for: “Some women make skim milk and some women make whole milk.”

5 days old

5 days old

I mentioned to her that I was a vegetarian and it felt as though there was instantly a reason for Baby Girl to be so skinny. I guess I live a low-fat lifestyle and I have a low-fat baby. Suddenly, we could stop visiting the doctor every other day, I just needed to increase my fat intake. Done!

Immediately following that visit, we went to the grocery store. When we checked out, it seriously looked like we were single-handedly supporting the Dairy Farmers of America! I wish I had taken a picture, but our cart was filled with:

  • a gallon of whole milk
  • 2 gallons of ice cream
  • full-fat greek yogurt (which is so hard to find!!! Why is yogurt suddenly a low-fat, no-fat diet food? Thank goodness for the handful of full-fat flavors of Oikos!)
  • practically my weight in cheese
  • 2 avocados
  • and some bread to slather with all the peanut butter I already had at home

The baby just had her 4 month check up and she’s only in the 11th percentile for weight… but at least the doctor seems ok with it. Baby Girl doesn’t have very many fat rolls (which really are cute on a baby) but she has tons of energy and is always wiggling, dancing, rolling over, trying to crawl away, so I’m going to guess she’s not failing to thrive. 😉

2 months old. She wiggles and kicks so much in her sleep that she completely manages to break out of her swaddles...

2 months old. She wiggles and kicks so much in her sleep that she completely manages to break out of her swaddles… (she was velcro’d into that!)

Comments on: "Baby Weight" (2)

  1. Beautiful! And you can’t post too many pictures.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

