Reasons to get out of bed…

Ok… it’s totally been a month since I last posted anything. Sorry about that. I’ve written a bunch of drafts, but then my inability to focus takes over and they remain half-finished.

It’s also been 2 months since I last posted a real update on my pregnancy. So here goes!

My due date was May 26th (Sunday) and today is the 29th. I’m 3 days “overdue” and I’m 100% ok with that! I had an appointment with my doctor yesterday and she doesn’t think this baby will be coming anytime soon. I’m also ok with that, for a few reasons:

  1. I’ve been told that fatter babies are happier babies. Because they have more body fat to live off, they can sleep a little longer and their feedings are a little more spread apart. I hear that as more sleep and I love that idea!
  2. I’m pretty sure babies are easier to care for on the inside than the outside, so I don’t mind a few extra days.
  3. What’s the rush? I plan to know this kid for the rest of my life, what’s another few days of waiting? Plus, I know where it is! It’s not like I need to be nervous because he/she is missing. I get kicked, I know he/she is in there and doing fine.
  4. I’m not super uncomfortable!
  5. There is a “community festival” within walking distance from my house this Saturday and there will be fried dough! I can wait a few days for a baby if there is a promise of fried dough! 🙂

Comfort level: Yes, I’m normal pregnant uncomfortable, but I’m not SUPER uncomfortable. I haven’t been plagued with sciatica. I sleep ok for the most part (better than I would if I had a baby who needs to eat every 2 hours, that’s for sure). And I don’t have toxemia/pre-eclampsia so I really have nothing to complain about. I can “take one for the team” and wait another week or so, it’s ok.

For weeks I was really “suffering” (comparatively) from swollen feet. It was painful to put them on the floor in the morning. Socks were too tight (even men’s socks), and I only had two pairs of shoes that fit my Stay-Puffed Marshmallow feet. But then T’s sister showed him a technique to help get rid of the water retention in the feet. Now, T gives me a very specific foot massage every night and life is good again. I have ankle bones again! My feet don’t hurt when I get out of bed! It’s awesome! Plus, I’m working from home full-time now and keeping my feet elevated, so that’s helping as well. I’m probably a little more comfortable now than I was 3 weeks ago.

Still crazy: I still have an innie belly button! Love it! It’s really sensitive to the touch though. I’ve always hated it touched… so this isn’t really new, it just seems like more people want to touch it (and by more people, I mean that T finds it funny to touch because it’s so shallow and the sonographer LOVES to use it as a target for where to put the ultrasound sensor…)

Food: I’ve never had a real pregnancy craving. Yes, I took the food suggestions from baby websites, but I never had a moment where I HAD to eat anything. Also, much to many people’s disappointment, I never craved meat during my pregnancy (I’ve been a vegetarian for over 20 years…)

Dreams: Lots of people also ask if I’ve had dreams about the baby, foretelling gender, etc. I have not. I don’t remember any dreams where I really see the baby in any real way. I would say that we’re still sort of strangers at this point (although I’m pretty sure the baby loves Mexican food… that always generates a dance party).

Gender: I certainly have no guess at the gender. Lots of people think we know the gender but we really don’t. We often call the baby “he” but that’s only because we’ve gotten a little sick of saying “he or she” so we’re lazy and stop after the first part.

“Eviction:” Lots of people, who aren’t my doctor, like to tell me to get induced. As of yesterday, my doctor says that she wouldn’t recommend inducing right now, my body is so not ready to have a baby that she doesn’t think it would work. She thinks I’d end up with a c-section and she’s glad I’m happy to wait. Plus, T and I think if we wait too far into June, we’d prefer to try all of the hippy methods of induction first: going for walks, acupressure, acupuncture, chiropractic, some super spicy Indian food, etc.

So yep, that’s about it! No baby but no angst either.

Pictures:

Week 33

Week 35 Week 36

Taken on the baby's estimated delivery date! I'm all red and puffy because T likes to play sappy love songs that make me cry!

Taken on the baby’s estimated delivery date! I’m all red and puffy because T likes to play sappy love songs that make me cry!

And for a fun comparison:

Wow... apparently I had a favorite shirt for taking these pictures!

Wow… apparently I had a favorite shirt for taking these pictures!

 

Comments on: "Body Images – Part 5" (1)

  1. Thanks for the update! I knew your due date was soon so I’ve been thinking of you. My guess is that your next post will be after the little peanut arrives so all the best to you. I wish an easy, uneventful, birth day to you both!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

