Reasons to get out of bed…

Student Loan Debt

This post has nothing to do with motivation (unless I count it as “one reason I’ll never be a stay at home mom” or “A job? Yes, please!”). I have strong feelings about student loan debts and the lack of financial education given to students taking out school loans (and how it will affect them for the REST of their lives). I’ve tried to write about those strong feelings here, but they always become VERY rant-like and I delete them. So I thought I would share this instead (since I stumbled across it this week…)

I hope you enjoy!

Student-Debt-Cartoon-Big

Comments on: "Student Loan Debt" (5)

  1. Omg. I read that comic as saying, “SIX-Figure Student Loan Debt,” and was going to comment on how my debt isn’t nearly that high and yet it still stresses me out. Cut to immediately after, when I realized it said “Five-Figure” – my debt is that high! Not otherworldly, but still: my education is going to be a costly cautionary tale more than a successful investment, I think.

    Ugh.

    • If it makes you feel any better, my undergraduate debt alone is 6 figures! (My masters is 5 figures…)

      I think a lot of people in our generation are plagued with similar “cautionary tales.” I read in the New York Times that an education is the only thing you can purchase that you can’t return or sell if you’re unhappy with it. You’re forever burdened with the price even if you didn’t get the product you were hoping for.

  2. This is so true! Another one with 5 figure student loan debt here šŸ˜¦

  3. […] hard that they kick their feet! However, I can’t be a stay at home mom because I have too much student loan debt. Heck, I can’t even afford toĀ reduce my hours! Ideally, I’d like to reduce my hours, […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

