Reasons to get out of bed…

Big things are going on over here at My Lesson In Motivation! Big things! Besides being pregnant, and still trying to work out (which I do… I just never manage to post about), my wonderful boyfriend and I just bought our first house! Whoa!

At this point, I’m feeling so adult it’s actually daunting.

xkcd homeownership

I promise to do a full update about the house (most likely complete with “before” and “after” pictures). But let me just tell you, this house has totally been forcing me to be motivated. Technically, it’s move-in ready… as long as we’re ok with 4 rooms being painted in the most extreme teal color even an 11-year-old girl made a joke about it (“wow… so that’s a choice”), and ok with having NO kitchen appliances, and a little mold in the basement, and a bunch of mild cosmetic issues, and not being able to close the bathroom door because the threshold is inches too tall (why?!), and, and, and…

Club house sale

You’re probably wondering at this point why we even bought the house. Because it’s lovely (especially for our price range), because all of the big stuff is new (roof, siding, windows, electrical thing in the basement which I should really know the name of). And because it’s so much bigger than where we live now. Literally, the basement is 30 square feet larger than our entire apartment right now (which is a single family home). No, our new house isn’t enormous – our rental is a shoebox! So if the basement is the same size as the ground floor, we also then gain the (three) bedrooms on a second floor: MORE SPACE! I don’t think our cats are going to know what to do with themselves with all of this room. I know they are going to love having more floor space to bat cat toys around and a dozen more windows to look out. (Not to mention all the new things outside).

So, we’ve been spending the last 2 weeks of home ownership fixing up the place (and buying appliances and hiring licensed people to do some of the more major work).

You know what’s a great motivator? Deadlines!

Deadline #1: We have to be out of our rental on March 31st.

It’s a great motivator to pack (although I’ve only just begun) and clean out closets and bookcases for donations. It’s also great to motivate us to finish a lot of the major projects (it’s WAY easier to paint an empty room than a room filled with furniture).

Deadline #2: our first guests will be sleeping over the night we move (T’s brother and sister-in-law are helping us move and then will be staying the night because they live 3 hours away). Normally, this would be no big deal. But when the bathroom door won’t close (and remains open about a foot and a half), these things NEED to be fixed!

So yeah… making sure the bathroom is a private experience without asking people to go to another part of the house (what we’re doing now… although luckily we aren’t in the house too much) is MAJOR motivation!

It WILL happen!!! I just keep repeating that to myself!

I’ll let you know how it goes, but I can promise you that I’m feeling motivated!

Comments on: "Motivation: Deadlines! (And a Private Bathroom…)" (7)

  1. SO SO many things to congratulate you for these past months! Congratulations! How exciting!

  2. Melanie Bowen said:

    Hello,

    I have a question about your blog, could you please email me? Thanks!!

    Melanie

  3. […] me start with a little back story on some of the home renovations we did before moving in: the floors upstairs. The bedrooms are all upstairs and the floors are a […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

