Reasons to get out of bed…

Remember how this used to vaguely be a running/fitness blog? Remember how I used to post motivational things on Saturdays (and at other random points when I needed an extra boost)? Remember that? Wasn’t that fun?

What happened to that?

I put myself on the injured list right after the Run of the Bridesmaids (which is why I never recapped it… it made me sad), although it has absolutely nothing to do with that race (which was totally a lot of fun and I hope they do it again next year and I hope they recommend it as a fundraiser to other branches of Big Sisters of America around the country). But I’ll talk more about the injured list next week in a real post dedicated to it, I promise! (I just need to motivate myself to send out holiday cards first…)

Anyway, I haven’t really gone running since the end of September (my last run was a beautiful 9 miles up and down – a bit around – a mountain in Vermont).

However, Monday night I went to see the Patriot’s Game at Gillette Stadium (my sincere condolences to the Houston fans). It was supposed to rain on Monday night. My wonderful boyfriend and I aren’t exactly outdoorsy people, so we were a little hard pressed for waterproof shoes. He wore a pair of hiking boots that he hasn’t used in years (I’ve lived with him for years and I’ve never even seen them before) and I wore the boots I wear to shovel or tromp through snow in.

We parked about a mile and a half from the stadium and walked. No big deal… until we were half way there and had a shoe malfunction. The soles on T’s boots began to disintegrate (and eventually large parts fell off) and my boots were giving me some blisters. So we turned around, walked back to the car, and changed into our sneakers (not waterproof but it never rained, so it all worked out). We then picked up the pace on the way back to the stadium, hoping to see kick off (and we did).

Total for the night, we probably walked a solid 3.5 miles (possibly more… plus getting around the stadium). And we stood for most of the game… so what’s that, about 3 hours?

flab in mirror

I am embarrassed to admit how sore my ankles were even 2 days later! Holy cow! Someone is seriously out of shape!!!

So sad! I really need to motivate myself to hit the gym and get those muscles back to being muscles, instead of just decoration…

Buns of Jello

It’s going to happen! It’s going to happen soon! Just as soon as I get these holiday cards out… (if I were skilled enough to write messages and run on the treadmill at the same time, this would be a breeze!)

 

Comments on: "Remember When I Used to Run? Neither Do My Muscles!" (1)

  1. […] you the answers to the puzzles and then I’ll talk about why the news basically put me on the injured list that I’ve been whining about for a […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

