Reasons to get out of bed…

No Thanksgiving Run…

Last year, I ran a 5k for MS on Thanksgiving Day… this year I wanted to do it again. Unfortunately, I managed to catch two mega colds this month that just wouldn’t quit. I feel like I’ve been super sick for almost the whole month. Both were respiratory so I just couldn’t imagine running. I haven’t run at all in the month of November, total bummer.

Why did I want to run this race so much?

  1. Thanksgiving races feel a little different. Like everyone is a little extra jovial.
  2. MS means something to me. Last year I ran with the names of people I know with MS on my back. I planned to do the same this year. I’ve also learned about more people in my life affected by MS and I wanted to add the names of their loved ones with MS to the list on my back as well. I may not know the loved one with MS, but it affects my dad/friend/boss/co-worker and I want to offer the little support to them that I can by offering a little nod to their loved one.

I blurred their last names, just in case they might prefer that. This was taken after the race.

I felt terrible not making it to this run: even though the course is absolutely the worst one I’ve ever encountered, the cause is so worth it. All day on Thanksgiving, I thought about those in my life dealing with MS. Every year, I give thanks for my health, and it just makes me sad that they can’t… I really hope some day they can!

So when my friend posted on Facebook that she was thankful for this study, curing a mouse of MS and giving her real hope for the first time in a while… well, I may have actually teared up.

Good luck to everyone dealing with MS! I hope this cure in mice is able to be replicated on human cells so that you have a cure someday in the near future! And next year, I look forward to being back on that course trying to help the cause!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

