Reasons to get out of bed…

Thanksgiving Recap

After all my whining and complaining about how I don’t like Thanksgiving, it actually turned out to be not so bad. I may have also realized that I don’t hate Thanksgiving, I hate all of the stress and obligation associated with 2 Thanksgivings.

I have been blissfully in love with my wonderful boyfriend for over ten years, but we’ve only started “sharing” Thanksgiving in the last few years. We would spend (late) lunch with one family and then drive 2 hours to have dinner with the other family (total driving for the day: 5 hours). So lately, Thanksgiving feels rushed and stressful and gross.

Unfortunately for my boyfriend, he was super sick on Thanksgiving. He stayed home napping on the couch, and I only had to attend one meal this year! The one with my family where all of my favorite comfort foods would be! (His mother is a wonderful cook… but their family eats different things than mine on Thanksgiving… so it doesn’t have that cozy feeling that I associate with my mom’s cooking… and I’m sure my boyfriend feels the same way about the meal at my family’s house, and that’s ok.) It was really nice. No stress, no feeling late. I got to enjoy the whole meal. And for the first time in years, I got to enjoy a nap after the meal! Lovely!

Now I remember why people actually like this holiday!

I’m so thankful for so many things in life: my wonderful boyfriend, my family, my friends, my job, my health, and not getting pulled over when I sped past that cop on the highway on Thanksgiving! (oops!) My life is wonderful and I’m so happy with all the little blessings!

I hope you are able to feel the same with your life. Happy Thanksgiving!

This was NOT my Thanksgiving this year and I’m thankful for that!

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Recap" (1)

  1. […] but this year I actually liked it. What was different? Well, let’s compare it with last year (which was a pretty typical […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

