Reasons to get out of bed…

I Love Halloween!

I do, I love Halloween (and I realize this post is a little late). It’s one of my favorite holidays. I have two degrees in theatre and no one can convince me that Halloween isn’t about costumes, decorating, playing pretend, and candy! I also love that it’s a very selfish holiday (please don’t hate me for this). You don’t have to drive around all across the state visiting family, eating parts of meals, and always feeling late. You don’t even have to celebrate it a certain way. Don’t like dressing up? Ok, don’t. Don’t like giving out candy to strangers? Ok, just don’t turn on your porch light. But if you love the holiday, you can participate to the max!

Every year, I go all out decorating. One year, my roommate owned a fog machine and I own an army of 6-foot wide, fuzzy spiders… we were the creepiest house on the block! It was awesome! Even now, I don’t really have a porch and I have no external electricity, but I still manage to decorate my windows and fill my lawn as much as I can (but I don’t go for too creepy, there’s never a graveyard on my lawn or zombies or anything like that, I go for cartoon-creepy). I do it to try to attract trick-or-treaters, it’s like my advertisement to the neighborhood that I’ll have candy. And at my current apartment, where I’ve been for 4 years, I get an average of 3 kids, my max was 5. And I get it. I live down the street from a cute little neighborhood with lots of homes, near each other, connected by well-maintained sidewalks. But I live far enough beyond it, past an office building and its parking lots, that very few kids make it my way.

See? Cartoon-like!

This year, along with almost everything in my life right now, I just wasn’t feeling it (which says a lot). I didn’t even use a themed Halloween candy bowl. I just used a regular, old, blue bowl that lives in my kitchen year round. I didn’t even dress up or wear a silly headband with a spider or bats or anything on it. But I was still excited for some trick-or-treaters!

Warning, this is a random tangent but was in my head all night on Halloween: one of my Facebook friends posted this on Facebook (although she mentioned that she took it from a friend… so maybe it’s more popular than I know): “With Halloween upon us, please keep in mind, a lot of little people will be visiting your home. Be accepting. The child who is grabbing more than one piece of candy may have poor fine motor skills. The child who does not say trick or treat or thank you may be non-verbal. The child who looks disappointed when they see your bowl might have an allergy. The child who isn’t wearing a costume at all might have sensory issues or autism. Be nice. Be patient. It’s Halloween for everybody :)”

I had two types of candy, lollipops and Reese’s Cups (because while I love peanuts, I know some people have allergies). The first little kid to knock on my door, was an Elmo (with a full head-piece… so I have no idea if it was a girl or a boy – I’m going to say “he” because Elmo is a he… and I’m guessing the age to be 3 or 4). Elmo was super cute! He reached into my bowl with such focus! And with effort, pulled out just one lollipop.

Now, I had way too much candy to let everyone only walk away with one thing. So I asked Elmo if he would like a Peanut Butter Cup too. Silently, Elmo moved to put the lollipop back in my bowl.  Now, I’m trying to prod this tiny human being to take one of each. He didn’t seem so sure about this. When he looked up as his mother, she politely said to him “It’s ok, if she says you can have more than one, you can have more than one.” And that did the trick. Elmo allowed both pieces to go into the bag.

It was actually the theme of the night. I heard more than once “If she says you can, you can have more than one.” These kids were crazy polite! And my last (let’s guess) ninja of the night (an 8-year-old boy who had ditched most of his costume by the time he made it to my house), when offered more candy said “No, thanks!” and skipped off down my steps!

I was amazed! Was anyone else like this as a kid? When offered a candy bowl, I was of course going to take a second piece!

I thought I would share this story along with my next to last post, because it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy about people. These kids were all, ALL, so well-behaved and polite! Quality parenting, neighbors, well done!

Comments on: "I Love Halloween!" (1)

  1. Quality parenting is right! Again, so nice to hear!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

