Reasons to get out of bed…

Music as Motivation

I’ve mentioned before that I’m a huge fan when it comes to listening to music while working out. I really think it helps me to keep going and to shut down the negative voices in my head. And I discovered a website/app that I’d like to share with you in case you’re also a fan of running to music.

Jog.fm!

Jog.fm matches your desired pace with songs that have an appropriate beats per minute. What a fun way to find new motivational music! I hope you enjoy! It’s also available for your iPhone, but I’m not finding it on the Android platform (bummer!).

Plus, you may enjoy this study about increasing lung function and working out with music.

I also find it funny that the Jog.fm site reminds people:

The phrasing cracks me up, but that’s because I hear my mother’s voice from my childhood telling me not to run into traffic… However, I do agree with jog.fm: be careful where you choose to run with music. Personally, I run on the treadmill or on a running path in an urban environment (lots of people – so less of a chance of being attacked, I hope – and if a car is going to hit me, it’s going to have to first crash through a grocery store or an apartment building for the most part…) I think I’m pretty safe with my music, but please be safe with yours!

What do you think?

Comments on: "Music as Motivation" (8)

  1. Did you see this app? http://www.usatoday.com/tech/gaming/story/2012-09-03/zombie-app/57536130/1 I was cracking up.
    Also, that research study was done right where I work. Cool. Thanks for sharing.

  2. […] listening to music while running people can have some strong opinions. So since I was so pro-music yesterday, I thought I would offer a counterbalance […]

  3. I feel like when I don’t run with music, I space out and slow down way too much. I need that break in the music every few minutes to remind me of what I’m doing, and especially that occasionally kick-ass tune to get my ass back up to speed!

  4. […] everyone up. Of course it was easier to talk to everyone because this was my first race without music. Whoa! But one of the women on my team ran my pace, so we had each other to talk to the whole time. […]

  5. […] on an unfamiliar set of dirt roads that were sparsely populated. Very different from running past grocery stores and a bus stop, that’s for sure! I was gone for so long that my wonderful boyfriend was […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

