Reasons to get out of bed…

One of my friends, as a fellow black cat owner, just made me aware that today is National Black Cat Appreciation Day! Granted, I own tuxedo cats and not solid black cats, but I think that still counts.

Why was National Black Cat Appreciation Day created? Here’s the answer as written by examiner.com:

“Due in part to the current economic conditions and high unemployment rate, many animal shelters across the country are inundated with unwanted, unloved, neglected and abused animals. And in many locations, black cats and dogs have the lowest adoption rate and highest euthanasia rate simply because the color of their fur. Black cats are often falsely associated with bad luck and superstition.

Wayne Morris created the annual event in an effort to raise awareness about the plight of black cats and to encourage folks across the country to adopt these often maligned and misunderstood animals. Some shelters around the nation are offering special deals on black cat adoptions.”

Check out the website for more details (and for an adorable slideshow of black cats).

Black cats, like any other colored cats, can make wonderful pets! I hope you’ll give some love to a black cat (or a shelter) today.

And here is just a little sample of my black cats:

They used to like to snuggle

My little boy cat “hiding” in a tissue box when he was a kitten

My boy cat prefers to sleep with a pillow (on the couch)

My girl cat prefers to spread out!

Happy National Black Cat Appreciation Day!

 

 

 

Comments on: "National Black Cat Appreciation Day" (2)

  1. Awww…cute. I just sent the link to my friend that has a black cat.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

