Reasons to get out of bed…

Married or Single?

As I’ve mentioned before, my wonderful boyfriend and I have been together for 10 years and we have no plans to ever get married. And we’re both totally ok with that.

There are just a few things that I hate about not having a better word than “boyfriend.”

  1. Whenever we go to weddings, I hate introducing him as a boyfriend… it makes him sound new… most times, we’ve been together longer than the couple getting married
  2. It makes us sound like we’re 16 (and we’re not)
  3. Categories, when filling out forms, don’t seem accurate

To expand on #3, I just went to a new gynecologist and had to fill out all of the medical forms. I had to list myself as single. Personally, I think the forms for that type of doctor should be different, because isn’t she more worried about my risk factors? I have one, committed partner – just like a standard married person. Someone could mark that they are married, but they could be in an open relationship and be seeing a ton of play. Shouldn’t the doctor be more interested in how many people have access to the playground?

Isn’t there a difference?

But that’s beside the point. The reason for this post is because I’m actually really excited about a demographics form that I filled out on a survey! The survey is for Jiminy Peak, where I did the aerial obstacle course a few weeks ago. Here’s the question that got me jazzed:

Fabulous, right?!

I hope that more forms start looking like this. Especially as the group of un-married “co-habitators” continues to increase.  🙂

Comments on: "Married or Single?" (3)

  1. First of all, I love Jiminy Peak.

    Second, I know exactly what you mean. Patrick and I were together for 5 years before we got married, and we pretty much did that because it was easier to explain husband/wife than boyfriend/girlfriend to people. I think can always make people uncomfortable and call him your “common-law” (in a hickish accent of course).

    • 🙂 I like the idea! Massachusetts actually doesn’t have common-law marriages anymore. If he and I break up, we have to sue one another as roommates… (so lame! Good thing I’m not planning on that anytime soon) I guess that’s the trade off we get for having legal same-sex marriages…

  2. You can alway use “partner.” Then people will just think you’re gay (when you refer to your “partner” when Tavis isn’t around, that is. I don’t think anyone would actually mistake him for a girl).

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

