Reasons to get out of bed…

Fun in Philly

My wonderful boyfriend and I had a TERRIFIC time in Philadelphia for our 10 year anniversary!

It started off a little rocky but not this kind of Rocky:

Our first interaction with the city was near an art college. Everyone we saw was either a hipster, art student or homeless. It didn’t bode well for the city! But maybe we were just near the Philly version of the Pine Street Inn (Boston’s major homeless shelter… in case I lost you on that hometown reference) because we didn’t see nearly as many in other parts of the city. Also, the first piece of art looked like poo:

It was really supposed to be a giant glob of paint, but at first we didn’t see the giant paint brush over it when we were driving past it.

We really did have an awesome time though! We went on a tour of City Hall (the largest government office in the country). I LOVE guided tours that teach me something… because I’m a GIANT NERD!

T and City Hall (in the background)

We went to the Reading Terminal Market (which I think was my favorite thing… I LOVE a wide variety of foods in one place and the soft pretzels were to die for! Literally, there was probably enough butter to cause a heart attack – but they were scrumptious!)

We also saw the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall

And we did a lot of walking… T is an architect, and as the tour guide at City Hall said: “not all art is in a museum!” We looked at a TON of buildings! T simply loves it and Philly has a bunch of really neat buildings to look at, including the Masonic Hall:

Philly also has a ton of really fabulous statues:

I don’t know the real name of this statue, but I call it “butts and feet” because regardless of the angle, you see lots of butts and feet!

In fact, if I ever go back to Philly, I think I would go on a butt scavenger hunt, they have a lot of exposed butts on their statues (not saying I minded, it was just interesting). Make a game out of it, see how many one can find while there, you know? At least there were more than I’ve ever seen in any other city… and I studied abroad in Europe! (there is a statue of a kid peeing in Belgium… and they still don’t have as many derrieres as Philly).

And yes, Philly cheese steaks were had! T tried 3 from a variety of places. I did not, however… since I’m a vegetarian and all. 🙂

It was a lot of fun and I’m super glad we went! I love seeing and learning about new places. It’s a great walking city and I really recommend seeing Philly!

Comments on: "Fun in Philly" (3)

  1. Sorry we missed you! If you make return trip anywhere within a couple of hours of me I will be sure to try to make it work!!

  2. […] we went down to Philadelphia, one of T’s coworkers (who recently lived in Philly) gave us 4 pages of recommendations for […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

