Reasons to get out of bed…

To celebrate my 10 year anniversary with my wonderful boyfriend, I have decided to do 10 posts completely dedicated to him. If you missed the first one, check it out here.

How We Met:

The odd thing about telling you how we met is that we actually have differing opinions of that. We met in college, we both agree on that. We went to a college large enough that you didn’t know everyone… but it was small enough that you were only one degree away from anyone. Or to put it another way: everyone you met was a friend of a friend (or more likely, a friend of half the people you were friends with). So we were both friends with the same group of people.

The very first time I remember ever encountering T was at a Superbowl party. He came in for about 90 seconds just to find a partner on a group project that was due the next day.

He remembers meeting me for the first time one day when I was taking out my trash. We lived in an on-campus apartment-style dorm that’s shaped like a U. He lived in apartment 124 and I lived in 128, both were located in the base of the U. The dumpsters were at the end of the left leg. I was walking back after throwing out my trash along with a friend, Ed, who had been doing the same, when a voice came from above. T started by calling down to Ed (from the 3rd floor) and then we all joked around for about 5 minutes. However, I claim it doesn’t count because I couldn’t see his face through the window screen.

But we officially, officially met one day during a water gun fight in the quad of said U, just a little water gun fight with that circle of friends we shared. T walked out of his apartment and, of course, got attacked. He was asking for it… he walked out in a tight, white shirt, showing off some guns (I mean his arms, he didn’t have a water gun) – he was just asking to be turned into his own, private, wet t-shirt contest! Mmm, mmm, boy was looking FINE!

I couldn't find any good pictures of us from 10 years ago, but T is the "skirt on the right." Too bad that shirt doesn't show off his muscles.

This is where I’m about to sound SLUTTY! I told T that I had heard he had the best bed on campus (I really had!) and I asked if I could see it (sometime)… but I didn’t mean I wanted to sleep with him, I literally wanted to see the bed that had a reputation (he wasn’t a slut either, he just had the best bed to hang out in). We walked back upstairs and he showed me the bed.

Here is why it REALLY was the best bed on campus: we both lived in 5 occupancy apartments (2 double rooms, one single, and a livingroom/kitchen), but 2 of his roommates had moved out. So he had a double occupancy room to himself and so did one of the other guys still living there. T moved one of the crappy beds into his roommates room. That roommate created a giant bed by putting the 3 twins together. T lofted his original, lousy, school-issued bed over his “creation.” He took an old sectional couch from his grandparents’ and put all of the sections together to make a circle (and the backs of the couch made it feel like you were in a little nest – plus he covered it all in soft felt). He then put a futon on top of the couch cushions, and covered that with a feather bed. He seriously had the softest, coziest bed on campus! I wish I had a picture to show you!

We hung out in his room for about an hour and he was a total gentleman the entire time (but he had to kick me out so he could go to class). Later that night he asked me out on our first date.

There were a few other odd near misses in our meeting (a lot of  “almosts”). But 10 years later, I’m sure glad we finally met face to face.

We're clearly pretty drunk at a bar and looking ridiculous, but I'm sharing this picture with you because T is trying on a free tee that is clearly too tight for him! (and yes, we're all being silly when this was taken)

Comments on: "Ten Tales of T – Day 2" (2)

  1. […] To celebrate my 10 year anniversary with my wonderful boyfriend, I’m creating 10 posts all about him and our relationship. If you’d like to read the first 2 posts, you can check them out here and here. […]

  2. […] to him and our relationship. If you want to read the first three days, you can check them out here, here, and […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

