Reasons to get out of bed…

Ten Tales of T

My wonderful boyfriend and I will be celebrating our 10 year anniversary this month!

So this month, I’m going to post “Ten Tales of T:” ten posts of little memories or pictures to celebrate our love and remember all the fun we’ve had together so far.

I feel like I should start with a little explanation for you, my dear reader. Yes, we’ve been together for 10 years and we’re not married. We actually never plan to get married. He’s on my healthcare (thank you, very liberal employer who allows me to have a “spousal equivalent”), we live together, and we have cats. That’s close enough to married for me. (plus, I always have really complicated taxes – thank you school and multiple jobs – it’s so much easier to file separately) I was never the little girl who fantasized about getting married. It was never a big dream that I’ve had.

We both also have lots of student loan debt and don’t care to add more debt to our lives (our parents wouldn’t be paying for this wedding). Neither of us are religious (neither are our parents – although my father went to 12 years of Catholic school… and hasn’t been back to the church since). And we were both raised by hippies (my parents more so). It’s just not important to us. We understand why it’s valuable to other people, but at the moment, it’s not to us. The only bummer is that we’ve been together for 10 years and I still have to use the word “boyfriend.” It’s not that I want to use the word “husband,” because that’s not it. I just wish I didn’t sound like a 15-year-old girl.

I used the word “partner” for a year or so… but everyone thought I meant a woman (and T is short for a very unique, Celtic name… so no one could easily identify the gender… his name isn’t something easy like Tom). And it’s not that I mind if anyone thinks I’m a lesbian, but then when said new person met him, they were very confused.

On the radio a few months ago, the djs were talking about “cohabitators” (because living together and not getting married is a rising trend apparently, perhaps that’s related to a fact I saw on WeTV that the average wedding costs 30 grand!) and some woman called in and essentially said that straight, cohabitating couples are ruining the sanctity of marriage. That actually really hurt my feelings. How can I ruin something that I don’t even participate in? Personally, I think if she wants to blame people ruining the sanctity of marriage, I think she should start pointing fingers at people who have had 5+ divorces…

According to Wikipedia, he's been married 8 times to 7 women...

Just saying…

So I hope that gives you a little idea about us.  I hope you don’t get the wrong idea though. Even though we’re not married, we’re still completely loyal and loving to just one another. We’re essentially married… we just don’t have the title.

The next post will be more positive, I promise. I think I’ll post about how we met.

Comments on: "Ten Tales of T" (11)

  1. As someone who knows both you and T I can honestly say that I would never consider your relationship as something that undermined the “sanctity” of marriage. You two are wonderful together and however you want to label it you have a good thing going!

  2. […] To celebrate my 10 year anniversary with my wonderful boyfriend, I have decided to do 10 posts completely dedicated to him. If you missed the first one, check it out here. […]

  3. […] him and our relationship. If you’d like to read the first 2 posts, you can check them out here and […]

  4. […] posts to him and our relationship. If you want to read the first three days, you can check them out here, here, and […]

  5. […] anniversary with my wonderful boyfriend, I’m dedicating 10 posts to him. Check out the first one (with more […]

  6. […] To celebrate my 10 year anniversary with my boyfriend, I’m dedicating 10 posts to him. You can read more about it here. […]

  7. […] I’ve mentioned before, my wonderful boyfriend and I have been together for 10 years and we have no plans to ever get […]

  8. […] what’s the problem? When I explained this to my wonderful boyfriend, he didn’t quite understand me, so I hope I can do a better job explaining this here. In […]

  9. […] grocery stores and a bus stop, that’s for sure! I was gone for so long that my wonderful boyfriend was afraid that I had gotten lost, been kidnapped, or eaten by a bear… (like I said, wrong […]

  10. […] of my wonderful boyfriend’s co-workers suggested to him that he read The Expectant Father during my pregnancy and to prepare […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

