Reasons to get out of bed…

This post is for Jill, who asked how my fundraising e-mail went (as mentioned here).

First, thank you to Jill and Stacy for commenting on my last post and telling me to just send my fundraising e-mail! As soon as I saw those comments, I hit send.

To be honest, I’m bumming a little. I’m psyched to have raised a little over $300. I have 13 donors (and thanks to Stacy – friend and reader, she commented on the post linked above – for being my first sponsor!). So why am I bummed? Well, of those 13 donors, only 2 are from the pool of 60 people who I directly support at work. I think it’s a little lame that so few of them donated considering that I do things for them all day long. Part of me wants to say “oh, no, I can’t build that dashboard or pull those metrics for you right now… but have you seen my fundraising page?” But I don’t have the testicular fortitude to withhold work as a bribe.

Also weighing on my mind is the fact that about this time last year, one of our sales reps participated in a triathlon. He sent around a similar fundraising e-mail and within 3 days, our coworkers had donated 1k. I wanted to ask him how he managed to do it… but he was let go on Thursday (the downside of not landing enough sales when you’re a salesman). So that’s a total bummer all around.

Oddly, I’ve had a bunch of people come over to me and congratulate me for running a 9k… one guy even said he had heard a rumor that I was a marathon runner and this must be a piece of cake for me!

But none of those people donated… That’s weird, right? To go out of your way to find me and talk to me about it, but not even donate a dollar?

Maybe I’ll send out another e-mail to my co-workers closer to the date or put a link to my fundraising page in my e-mail signature block. 

Or I’ll move on to harassing my friends/family/loved ones/poor souls who foolishly gave me their e-mail addresses over the years…

I’m sure I’ll get there, I just need to get creative about it!

Comments on: "Fundraising Recap – So Far" (4)

  1. You could also post it to facebook. Although I only got 1 donor doing that, which was disappointing. How’d you get so much?

    • Hi Stacy,

      I would guess that I got so much for a few reasons:
      1) I sent my e-mail to 350 people (who I work with so I know they all receive paychecks)
      2) I really mentioned the veteran aspect a few times. A bunch of my donators did so “in honor” of either active duty family members or retired military that they know. I think the personal connection helped a lot.

      I would have donated to your Bowlin’ for Colons if it weren’t for this! I felt really bad not helping you out!

  2. Thanks for the update. I’m sorry your co-workers lamed out on you though. I think the “need to get creative” idea is the way to go. How about baking cupcakes or brownies and putting them in the breakroom next to a fundraising sign of some kind? Maybe on the sign you could thank and specifically list those that already supported you. Guilt them into donating!! 🙂 Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

