Reasons to get out of bed…

I’ve signed up for another race and I’m super, super excited about this one! As in… this is the only race I’ve ever talked about for months before even registering!

I’ve signed up for the Harvard Pilgrim “Finish on the 50” 10k! Why am I so excited about this race, you ask? Two reasons:

  1. I’m finally believing in myself enough to do a 10k. They even have a 5k option and I’m choosing to step it up to the longer distance!
  2. (and the stronger of the two reasons) It ends on the fifty yard line of Gillette Stadium in Patriot’s Place!

I feel like this, so far, is my year of sports themed races. I’ve already signed up for a race that ends at home base in Fenway Park – which I affectionately call (while bastardizing the name) the Race to Home Base. However, why is the Finish on the 50 more thrilling? Well, I live in RedSox Nation, but (and I’m sorry if I offend anyone) baseball has too many games in a season to keep my attention. But I love the Patriots! (and you can read about my antics at a Patriot’s game here)

This was taken at my first Pat's game ever. Dr. Daddy took me and I'm wearing a jersey I borrowed from my brother.Taken this year in freezing temps! Not a "fair weather fan" anymore! Under all those layers I have on my own jersey...

I am so excited to get to run on the field! So, so excited! I’m nerding out for certain!

Right, so now I need to take that excitement and turn it out with some running! I should get on training! July will be here before I know it.

with my wonderful boyfrend at a different game. I'm about to get MUCH closer to the field!

Comments on: "Can’t Wait to “Finish on the 50!”" (7)

  1. Congrats on stepping it up to a 10K! And the “Finish on the 50!” is a great idea. The Pittsburgh Steelers have a 5K that ends in Heinz Field but not on the actual field. You enter through the gate and kind of loop the outside of the field. I ran it last year and thought it was fun. However, now that I hear that other teams let the runners on the actually field, I feel like our race is kind of lame. 😦

  2. That still sounds cool!

    I wonder if you could send an e-mail to the organizers of that race to entice them to let runners on the field. I know that the Steelers and the Pats aren’t crazy rivals (like the Pats and any NY team) but it might still be a motivating factor for organizers…

  3. […] In the end, I decided to do it. It cost $12 for early registration, it was only a few miles from me, and I figured if she didn’t want me there, she wouldn’t have mentioned it along with “we’re trying to get as many people as possible to sign up.” Plus, I’m really embarrassed about running a 12 minute mile at the Race to Home Base 9k and I wanted to do a run that would make me feel more confident (especially before my 10k in July). […]

  4. […] really motivating me to hit the gym? I remembered that I have a 10k in two weeks and I haven’t trained hard enough! Time to kick it […]

  5. […] now I’m off to run the Finish on the 50 10k! And after completing the 10k (which I will hopefully rock, aka run the entire time even if […]

  6. […] Finish at the 50 10k was last week (on the 3rd of July). It was a nice race but the weather was terrible. I was […]

  7. […] it. It was just a leisurely stroll… that took us about an hour… (after running the 10k though, this 5k felt so short, in the good […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

