Reasons to get out of bed…

MS Race Recap!

Hi all, I’m so sorry for being away so long! The end of the semester mixed with the approaching holidays mixed with college application deadlines has led to me feeling completely overwhelmed. I haven’t even gone running since Thanksgiving!

My run went pretty well though!

I mentioned before that I’m not a morning person and I was worried about eating and drinking enough. My alarm went off at 7 am. I hit snooze. My alarm went off again sometime after that (for some reason my alarm doesn’t do the standard 9 minute snooze… it will range from 9 minutes to 30 seconds, I’ve never figured it out). I hit the snooze again, drank a pint of water, and ate a banana that was waiting for me on the bedside table. I ate it with my eyes closed… but I propped myself up on an additional pillow, because that makes eating in bed/asleep acceptable, right? I may have hit the snooze again… and got out of bed at 7:30. I ate a yogurt and had another bottle of water.

I got ready and got rid of some of that water before leaving the house.

Of course right after I got there and checked in, I had to go to the bathroom. Here’s a fun fact about me, dear readers, I will NOT use a port-o-potty unless it’s absolutely necessary. Lucky for me after the running started, the feeling subsided, but I certainly regretted drinking that much water before the race.

The race itself was ok. I have no idea where the start line actually was, it wasn’t really marked. I put myself to the back of the line and ended up having to run around an ambulance parked in the middle of the street… so I’m guessing I was a good distance away from the start. This race didn’t have a “net time” like the last one, so I’m guessing it took at least 30 seconds to get to the start line… and I’m totally guessing that because it means my time improved from the last one. (actually, after looking at the hundreds of other people who crossed the start line before me – in the professional photos – it might have taken me 90 seconds to make it to the starting line just like the first race). I wish this race had pace signs to figure out where to start (start here if you have a 5 minute pace, 6 minute pace, 10 minute pace, etc), like the last one did. Other comparisons with the last one include: there were no mile markers here which was a bummer, and no one told me at the half way point what my time was. Oh well, no big deal.

I made it though! Even with the hills and it being cold! There were a few points where I seriously thought about walking. I had the names of the people I know with MS on my back (shown below) and it really helped motivate me. It was like they “had my back” or were pushing me from behind… these were the images I thought about to keep me going. At one point, I was thinking about walking and thought “Well, Terry would understand.” (Terry is in a wheelchair.) But then the other half of my conscience reminded me that Beth would not have approved! So even thousands of miles away, she motivated me to keep going!

I blurred their last names, just in case they might prefer that. This was taken after the race.

These are my final stats:

  • Gun time: 32:25
  • Pace: 10:26 (better than last time!)
  • Place: 793 (out of 1150)
  • Place out of just females: 375 out of 616
  • Place for my age/gender category: 113/185

    Mile 1, he didn't see me coming... so it's a little blurry, but clearly I wasn't tired yet.

     

  • Around the 2.75 mark. So glad I had people cheering for me at this point!

I had also tasked my boyfriend with a few chores for my run:

  1. Support me and yell nice things as I run past (check!)
  2. Take a picture of me running… (check!)
  3. Take pictures of anyone running in jeans (fail)

I really like reading joggingjeans.com’s blog and really wanted to contribute to it. But alas, neither of us saw anyone running in jeans. However, when I looked through the professional photos, I found this!

It’s at the start line, so he’s not really running yet, but he’s in jeans and he’s wearing a number!

So all in all:

  • I had fun
  • I would run another Thanksgiving day race (next year, I want a silly hat!)
  • I achieved my goals of: finishing, running the whole time, I finished in under 35 minutes, and even though I don’t know my net time, I’m still betting that I beat it.
  • I raised $165 for MS research
Comments on: "MS Race Recap!" (5)

  1. You are AWESOME!
    For both your race success AND scoping out jean-wearing runners!
    Thank your boyfriend for me too!

    You’ll see the pic you found soon!

  2. […] out her post about the race and bookmark her blog. If JoggingJeans.com had a blogroll, My Lesson in Motivation would definitely […]

  3. […] with great pictures of people working out in jeans: hilarious! And today, my picture from the MS run made it! I’m […]

  4. […] running outside, but I used the same training and philosophy of the program. I built up slowly and kicked some 5k butt! A little past the finish line (and off to the side). Trying to celebrate, but also […]

  5. […] year, I ran a 5k for MS on Thanksgiving Day… this year I wanted to do it again. Unfortunately, I managed to catch two […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

