Reasons to get out of bed…

Thankful for Her…

I had a pretty stressed out end to my week/weekend.

First I should mention that I’m a huge animal person. Dog person, cat person, doesn’t matter to me, I love them all. My mom grew up on a dairy farm, and I think she instilled a sense of empathy to me and my brother. She was always the first person trying to rescue every little, baby bunny or half-dead animal she found while we were growing up.

Now, I have 2 cats because I live in a relatively small apartment.

Little boy on the left, little girl on the right

Because the apartment is so small, but we do have a backyard, they spend most days outside (and they prefer it that way). Well, they both went out on Thursday, but then it POURED all afternoon!

When I came home, no kitty came inside immediately. Kind of odd, especially for a rainy day. Eventually my little, boy kitty came inside, got dried off and gobbled down his dinner. By 9 pm, my little girl cat was still nowhere to be found. This was very odd. Typically she’s yelling at me if I’m 5 minutes late for dinner. Now she was 3 hours late, it was still pouring, and it was starting to get really cold.

Here’s the thing, her nicknames are Princess and Prissy Pants. She will actually come inside to use the litter box and then prance back outside because she doesn’t like going to the bathroom outside. She got locked in the basement by accident one night and even though it has a dirt floor, she still waited to go to the bathroom so she could use the box. She’s prissy and always clean. This is her general attitude:

Not actually my little girl, but the sentiment is right.

She never came home on Thursday, and she has NEVER missed dinner. She never came home on Friday, and it rained all day. On Saturday, I was freaking out and still no cat! I figure if she had missed two dinners, she was probably dead, especially because it was nice on Saturday. My poor boyfriend was having dreams about her being eaten by wild animals and I was looking on the side of every road to see if she had been hit. I even called Animal Control on Saturday to see if anyone had found her. She’s a pretty friendly, little girl, so I thought maybe with all the rain, she had convinced someone to let her into their house. No such luck.

We went out for about an hour to watch my boyfriend’s niece’s soccer game. I know I was completely not fun because I was just so upset about her. We were gone for about an hour all day, and yet, when we got home, there she was sitting on the front porch begging to be let inside! I felt so much relief seeing her little face!

She stank of oil and her little, white feet were black with filth. I’m pretty sure she was locked in someone’s garage. I’m guessing by accident.

It was a stressful few days and I’m so glad she came home! With Thanksgiving being this week, I know I’m thankful for both of my cats who make my life brighter with their silly antics. Plus, their 3rd birthday is Sunday! I would have LOST IT if she didn’t make it to her birthday!

This is how she spent today (she's on the guest bed)

Comments on: "Thankful for Her…" (3)

  1. It was nice to read at the end that your cat came back safe and sound. Something to be thankful for this Thanksgiving.

  2. I have two cats also and could empathize with your stress of having one missing. SO SO happy for you that she found her way home! 🙂

  3. I’m so glad she came back. I panicked the time Malakite went missing for an hour. I can’t imagine if it had longer.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

