Reasons to get out of bed…

New Goals!

Goals really keep me going!

Lately, I’ve had to start running inside. I typically run after work. Now that it’s dark so early, I don’t feel safe running outside on my tree-laden paths by the river; and I don’t want to run along the main streets. So I”ve taken to a treadmill in the basement of my office building.

I’m not loving it. I even had the thought “Well, once I’ve run a 10k race, I think I’m going to stop this running thing. I don’t know why I do it anyway” Bah! I used to do it because it was fun and it felt good. The book I’m reading put it perfectly into words for me in a chapter about treadmills though. I don’t have the book in front of me unfortunately, so here is my paraphrase: After about 10 minutes of running on a treadmill, your mind figures out that it’s putting out all of this effort and you’re not going anywhere!

It’s so true! She offers a lot of fun tricks though to keep yourself engaged, like varying the speed and incline (especially in time with music or along with a TV show).

While running on a lunch break (whoa!), I came up with a few new goals for myself.

First, a recap of running during lunch: I did it because I have the 5k coming up and I wanted to make sure that I got in enough training. It was nice, but I don’t think I’ll do it again. First, it was great because I was the only person there the entire time. And when I went back to work, I felt more focused.

I don’t think I’ll be doing it again because showering in a weird place isn’t my thing. When I work out at night, I’ll actually get in my car when I’m done, drive home, and shower at home. But I couldn’t stink up the office… so I showered. Also, I was bright red in the face for what felt like a solid 2-3 hours afterwards. Finally, and the main reason, I didn’t get a long enough run. I’m used to running for 60-70 minutes (there is some walking in there too). 30 just didn’t cut it for me. I felt like I didn’t give it my all.

I decided that I needed some easy-to-achieve, winter goals. My last goals were distance based, because it was light at night and I would just run by the river until it got dark enough that I should go inside. I don’t really want to spend all night at the gym though.

So these are my new goals:

  • Run an 8 minute mile
  • Run a mile at a 4.0 incline

I working to achieve these by February 1st. I don’t expect to do these goals together, but rather it would involve running the two miles back to back. In order to feel that I’ve reached these goals I will need to do them 3 times (on separate nights).

I’m a little bummed that the treadmill at this gym will only let me go up in full numbers (or at least I haven’t figured out how to do a 1.5 incline, for example). The 2.0 was ROUGH! I’m sure it will get easier though. Plus, my muscles enjoyed the ache.

As of right now, I’ve managed to run a 2.0 incline and an 8:50 mile. (I’m still happier at a flat 10:30 though…)

I look forward to enjoying the feeling of achievement!

Since WordPress has decided I can’t imbed video anymore: here’s a link to YouTube for a fun Gooooaaaallll! clip!

Comments on: "New Goals!" (3)

  1. I actually like the treadmill, but only if I’m watching TV. If I just have music, I get bored, but if I’m watching TV I can run for an hour because I don’t want to miss the rest of the show!

    Today I’m actually waiting til 1:00 to go run today so I can run through the 1:00 football games! (I take walk breaks for commercials and run during the playing time.)

  2. sweetopiagirl said:

    Reblogged this on inspiredweightloss.

  3. […] mentioned that I made a goal for myself to run an 8 minute mile and a mile at a 4.0 incline (separately) by […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

