Reasons to get out of bed…

Go Around Again!

On Active.com (that blog I mentioned here), someone said it is best to sign up for another race right after completing your first, otherwise you might lose momentum and never run another race. So that’s what I’ve done!

At 9 am on Thanksgiving morning (I don’t eat turkey anyway so it’s not a big deal to me) I will be running:

I’m excited and nervous for this one as well.

Nervous because it will be cold, early in the morning, and I think this one has elevation. Also, I don’t think anyone will be out there cheering me on like the first one. Tavis says he will, but I feel like that’s a little cruel on my part to ask someone to stand out in the cold early in the morning on a holiday.

I’m excited because it’s another 5k, but also because of the cause. One of my longtime friends (since high school) was diagnosed with MS this year. She writes a great blog about it and I invite you to check it out. Additionally, I have 2 cousins and a great aunt who have (had – the great aunt has passed) MS. Plus, I understand having lousy neuro issues as stated here and here. Although my issues are child’s play compared to MS and that’s why I’m excited to support this. Did I ever mention that I got the results back from my MRI and I don’t have a brain tumor? Well, it’s true!

If you’d like to donate to my run, please check out my page here.

Sorry for the million and a half links in this one!

Comments on: "Go Around Again!" (7)

  1. I agree that being committed to an upcoming race will keep you motivated. The other bonus of running a Thanksgiving race is that you can enjoy your dinner guilt-free.
    I’m running my city’s “Turkey Trot” and am also hoping that it isn’t TOO cold.

    Safe running! (and glad you don’t have a tumor!!)

  2. […] weekend, one goal is to test out the course for the 5k on Thanksgiving, hence the running […]

  3. […] a recap of running during lunch: I did it because I have the 5k coming up and I wanted to make sure that I got in enough training. It was nice, but I don’t […]

  4. […] running another 5k tomorrow, and just like the first one, I’m crazy […]

  5. […] little fired up about the cause. I’m also a little nervous about the run, as I was with the others, here and here. For very different reasons though. I’m not worried about making a good time, […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

