Reasons to get out of bed…

Racing with this Journey!

My first race ever is tomorrow! I’m getting jittery/nervous/excited. I read on another running blog/chat board that I should have made every effort to sleep well last night because I’ll probably be too excited to get much sleep tonight. I have a feeling that’s true. Unfortunately, I didn’t mention that to my lovely boyfriend, and he woke me up this morning to tell me he was going out golfing… and I couldn’t fall back asleep. Bummer. So life goes though.

I found this quote and I love it:

I’m really going to repeat this to myself a lot tomorrow. On that other blog, someone was suggesting not to compare yourself to anyone else running because you don’t know what their training schedule is like. When that 70-year-old woman passes you, don’t freak out, she may have been running since she was 13 and she could be in crazy shape. I’ve been running since June, it’s not a competition against her! Same goes for people who look overweight (I don’t know if they’ve recently lost 200 pounds thanks to running). Also, this is a run to benefit Newton Special Athletes. I can’t think I’m in better shape than anyone with any special needs!

I’m there for myself. Period! These are my goals in order:

  1. Finish
  2. Run the entire time (no walking!)
  3. Finish in less than 35 minutes

Notice – I’m not trying to beat ANYONE! The only person I’m trying to beat is my lazy self – as mentioned in that fun quote above.

I also created a new iTunes playlist for the race tomorrow. My typical list was starting to lose its motivational power, so I kept the songs that I’m still loving and put in a few new ones:

As you can see, I’m a huge fan of Journey. I really find their lyrics helpful for keeping me going. Here are some of the other things that I’ll be chanting to myself tomorrow (in addition to the quote above):

Be good to yourself when nobody else will!

I don’t mean to say that no one else in my life is good to me, but what I do mean is that no one else is going to treat my body right, no one else is going to go running for me. If I don’t get myself off the couch, no one else can stop me from turning to jelly – so I need to be good to myself!

Anyway you want it that’s the way you need it, any way you want it!

This song was the impetus for my running mantra and I always mentally chant it along to the song. If I’m in the gym alone, I chant it out loud, and if I’m struggling tomorrow, I’m going to start belting it out on the course, I don’t care! My mantra is this: I want to be thin, I want to be fit, and I want a healthy heart. If you see me running tomorrow, feel free to remind me of that if it looks like I’m struggling!

I also like that this song chants “Hold on, hooo-ooo-old on!

Don’t be jealous of my boogie!

Thanks to RuPaul, tomorrow I will be thinking along with that track that I hope someone IS jealous of my boogie! That song always gets me moving a little faster!

See you on the other side!

Comments on: "Racing with this Journey!" (7)

  1. I’m so proud of you for working so hard! I can’t wait to congratulate you on finishing your first race! 🙂

  2. […] blog that I mentioned was right! I completely can’t […]

  3. […] first 5k is behind me! I’m really proud to say that I acheived all of my goals! I finished! I ran the whole time! And my net time was 32:03 (If I had known I was that close, I […]

  4. […] Active.com (that blog I mentioned here), someone said it is best to sign up for another race right after completing your first, otherwise […]

  5. […] keeping my goals in check this time around as well. Just like last time, I’m just hoping to finish and to have run the entire time. I don’t think I’ll […]

  6. […] outside and I managed, but I don’t know if I can make it 9k without some RuPaul, Journey, or Dropkick Murphys motivating me to go on. (ironically, I forgot my ipod […]

  7. […] posted these motivational posters before, but they are my favorite, so I wanted to share them again. They are my gym mantras and I […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

