Reasons to get out of bed…

Feeling Overwhelmed

Wow… it’s been almost week since I’ve posted! Not cool on my part! I apologize.

I am feeling completely overwhelmed. Class started last Monday and it is an insane amount of work. Seriously, we went over the 9 page syllabus for 4 hours! But I’ve already talked about that a little bit.

This week, I spent almost every free moment looking at websites for Polish theaters and freaking out because I couldn’t find the information I was looking for. Also, Google translate may have also brought me to the brink of tears when it was telling me a webpage was already translated. Here’s the thing, I CAN read English but I CANNOT read Polish… I could not read those webpages so I’m pretty sure Google translate was WRONG when it said it was already translated. Also as a fun fact if you google “polish dramaturg” my professor is Google’s 3rd and 4th response… so that wasn’t too intimidating. But, enough complaining! The project got finished and it’s fine.

At least this week’s (daunting) project is for an American theater… so that helps.

Here was my week last week that I had to motivate myself through:

Monday = class
Tuesday = working late, then running
Wednesday = end of softball party
Thursday = night o’ homework
Friday = co-worker’s good-bye party (he got a new job)
Saturday = running errands, visiting the school library, and a Grad Association drinking event
Sunday = at home with a stomach bug trying to finish my project (stomach bug isn’t entirely gone… but I have to get through life! I refuse to take a sick day unless I can’t get out of bed)

My week this week is almost as gruesome. And of course I mean fun, I just also mean busy to the hilt.

I’m feeling very unmotivated this week because one of my co-workers gave me flack about leaving the party on Friday night at 9:30 pm. He said “but you never go out!”

1) I know it’s stupid to be hurt by this
2) I know it’s not true (clearly I’m out 5-7 nights per week… it just isn’t always with coworkers)
3) I know he really meant that HE never goes out

So dear readers, do you have any suggestions on how I can avoid letting this get to me? I’m planning to jokingly say something to him tomorrow. I need to get it out of my head because I need to focus on getting through this week.

My motivation today comes from the immortal words of Dory the fish in Finding Nemo:

And even though I’m being good and motivating myself to go out and do everything I NEED to do this week, I just don’t have it in me to motivate myself to go running tonight.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

