Reasons to get out of bed…

Taking the Plunge!

I did it! I signed up for a 5k! Specifically, I signed up for this 5k:

I decided it was time to give myself a goal. Additionally, running a 5k is on my bucket list. I’ve spent the summer running, I may not be in this shape in the spring depending on how the school year goes, so I figured: let’s go for it now!

I’m really excited and really nervous.

Why did I choose this 5k?

1) It’s a 5 minute drive from my house (let’s be honest, this is my main reason…)
2) It’s for a cause I can totally support – more on that in a minute.
3) It’s at a pub and it’s taking place around lunch time! They also promise to have festivities.
4) The website plays celtic music and shows men in kilts! Hello! I’m so there!

My favorite man in a kilt is the one on the right.

The cause that attracted my attention:

Newton Special Athletes – programs are offered to provide and encourage physical, social, emotional and intellectual development. This year round program strives to meet the individuals needs and expand the independence of our participants through providing high quality recreation programming. Learn more on their website: http://www.newtonspecialathletes.com/

When I was high school teacher, I was put in charge of running an afterschool program to include the special needs students in the activities where they wanted to participate: sports, art club, etc. I spent every afternoon with some really awesome kids getting them to fit in with other kids their age.

I’m excited my first race will be doing the same thing. And it’s an “inclusive” race! I’m also completely confident that many of the special needs runners will be faster than me. I’m ok with that.

My goal here is not to win. First, I’m not a runner. Second, I’ll be the oldest in my age group. If the run was 9 days later, I’d be the youngest in the next group.

So my goal is not to win. My goal is to finish! My second goal, should I tackle the first one, would be to have run the entire race, no walking allowed! Now, I have a little more than 30 days to get ready!

Wish me luck!

Comments on: "Taking the Plunge!" (4)

  1. Yay! Good luck! I’m sure you can finish. And also, thanks for the kilt picture 🙂

  2. […] fired up about the cause. I’m also a little nervous about the run, as I was with the others, here and here. For very different reasons though. I’m not worried about making a good time, the […]

  3. […] a scarf in his Scottish tartan: Wallace. To see him in his kilt, click here or […]

  4. […] mentioned before that I’m a huge fan when it comes to listening to music while working out. I really think it […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

