Reasons to get out of bed…

Not Really a Runner

Last night, I went for a run. Saturday was my last class for the school year (woo! summer break!), so I made an agreement with myself that I could take 2 days to rest, and then I had to be active again.  I strongly believe that Newton’s law “an object in motion will remain in motion, and an object at rest will remain at rest” also applies to people.

 

 

 

So I let myself rebound from classes by spending lots of time on the couch watching tv and reading books, but now it was time to get up before I became addicted to Netflix’s streaming videos. So I went for a run! Now, please know that I am not a runner, I simply go for runs. What’s the difference, you ask?

Runner:

Me:

Struggling Runner

 

I try to stay fit, but I’m not athletic at all. In high school, I stayed fit by dancing, but again I wasn’t “a dancer.” I had no rhythm, I looked awkward, etc (picture the above, only with a leotard). Now, I feel too old to look awkward doing ballet, so I run. Here’s the problem: I know nothing about running. For example, why am I the only person running around the neighborhood with a bottle of water? But I like it. I even like the bottle of water because 1) I like the hydration and 2) it’s a makeshift little weight. Even though it’s stupid hot and humid outside, I’m actually happy running out there. I have never before been someone who runs outdoors in the summer. However, I am lucky enough to live one block away from the Charles River Walking Path. It’s so beautiful! I know that when I move someday, that will be what I miss most about the area. I’ll try to take pictures next time to show you how awesome it is. (Although if you live near a river with some trees, you probably already understand. But I love the feel when everything around it is city.)

So the view is definitely motivating me to get out there.  Have I been motivated by weight loss? No. I’ve only gone out once or twice per week in the past month (so that’s about 7 or 8 times so far). I haven’t even lost half a pound yet. That may also have something to do with the fact that I’ve had at least 7 or 8 or these in the last month:

 and

I’ve never been a very competitive person socially, but I really like competing with myself. So everyday I get out there, I try to push myself to run just a little bit farther. So far, in terms of results, I feel a little less old (stiff) when I come inside, and I think I look a little “less bad” while running… I’m not looking like a runner yet, but I don’t think everyone I run past is worried that I’ll faint on them anymore.

Image Detail

 

So to recap, my motivation to get outside:

1) Avoid addiction to Netflix    

2) Enjoy the scenery

3) Beat what I could do yesterday

And… really… I’d like for my knees to be a little less flabby.

Those are my reasons for getting out there. What gets you going? Do you have any advice for a beginning runner… correction: someone who is just starting to run?

Comments on: "Not Really a Runner" (9)

  1. Do you ever want to do a race? Or do you just want to race yourself?

    • I’m hoping to run in the Race to Home Base next May. It’s a 9k to benefit war veterans, and the finish line is home plate at Fenway Park. I imagine that I should also prep with a 5k at some point, I just haven’t thought that far yet. I’ve heard that there is a 5k that ends on the field in Patriot’s Place… so that would also be fun… but I don’t know much about it. Apparently, I have a sports theme going on!

  2. […] program per se… but I ran two 5ks last year… so I sort of finished the program, right? I never really considered myself a “runner” though. But I will own up to the fact that I wasn’t afraid of the gym […]

  3. […] Need more examples of my lack of athletic abilities? Read this. […]

  4. […] Last weekend, I finally realized why and how I became a runner. I haven’t done much running all winter, but as soon as a nice day rolled around, I was out there again! And I think I finally realized why I find running so appealing despite the fact that I’m not athletic! […]

  5. […] have also mentioned a ton of times that I believe that “an object in motion stays in motion” also applies […]

  6. […] I’ve mentioned before, I’m a bit of a “casual runner.” I go out when I have free time and when […]

  7. […] that I loved about being a beginning runner was that I could do it on my own. I would run along a trail with only a few other people around. I […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

