Reasons to get out of bed…

Lazy?

I have always been amazed by the energy level of one of my friends. She has a full time job, a part time job, and 2 kids. When she gets home from her day job, she makes her kids dinner, puts them to bed, and then goes into her home office to work on her part time job – a home party plan (like tupperware parties… but that’s not what we sell), which is how we know each other.

Whenever I’m at home, all I want to do is sit on the couch and zone out. I have always considered her to be a superwoman because it seems that she can just keep going.

Recently, I took a look at my life and realized why I just want to zone out and be lazy when I’m at home: I’m almost never there! I have a full time job, a part time job, and I’m a full time grad student. I degrade myself when I say that by adding “but being a full time grad student only means two classes.” I mean this as opposed to being a full time undergrad, which was 5 classes where I went.

First, I need to stop degrading myself and acknowledge that I’m still out of the house until 10:30 or 11 pm a minimum of two nights per week (4 nights when I was taking a directing class) for school. Plus, I often have the stress of homework. And I’m typically losing out on sleep.

Second, I realized that I’m also a really busy person and it’s ok to zone out during the limited time that I’m home.

I find my life is constantly a battle to motivate myself: get myself out of bed, get myself to class or to my 2nd job, or in the off chance I have free time, to motivate myself to excersize. I also want to be as social as possible and see friends. Life is busy! But all in all, I love my life; these things are what keep me going.

This blog will not be about me trying to motivate you. This blog will be about me trying to motivate me.  I invite you to join me on that journey. Please feel free to laugh with me at the little things that keep me going. Please share with me what keeps you going.

Who can’t use a little pick-me-up occassionally, right?

Comments on: "Lazy?" (1)

  1. […] recently had a friend (specifically the Super Mom who I talk about in my first ever post) ask me if I had extra hours in the day. She’s amazed by how much I seem to get done! It […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

